Water in NSW

WaterNSW works in partnership with other water agencies in NSW.

WaterNSW is one of four main agencies tasked with implementing the regulatory framework and managing water in NSW. While the agencies work together to achieve the best possible economic, social, cultural and environment outcomes for the people of NSW, each agency has it's own roles and responsibilities.

  1. Department of Planning and Environment -Water (DPE-Water) - assesses and recommends changes to NSW’s water legislation, water sharing/water resource plans, water management rules and licence or approval conditions. These plans, rules and legislation form the regulatory framework that all water users and operators must work within.
  2. WaterNSW - responsible for supplying the state’s bulk water needs, operating the state’s river systems and the bulk water supply system for Greater Sydney and providing services to its customers with respect to licensing and approvals, water allocation trades, water licence trades and water resource information.
  3. Natural Resource Access Regulator (NRAR) - responsible for compliance with and enforcement of the regulatory framework for water including water management rules.
  4. NSW Office of Environment and Heritage - manages environmental water within NSW, including environmental water licences held by the NSW Government and planned environmental water allocations made under water sharing plans.
Go to top

WaterNSW acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands and waters on which we work and pay our respects to all elders past, present and emerging. Learn more