Cataract Dam One of the oldest and most picturesque dams

Cataract Dam
Latest dam level

View all dam & rainfall levels
Status Open to Public
View Map

Visit the Dam


  • Children's playground
  • Drinking water
  • Barbecues
  • Parking
  • Toilets
  • Viewing areas
  • Hot Water
  • Disabled toilets
  • Picnic shelters

Cataract Dam is one of the oldest and most picturesque dams in Sydney. The castle-like sandstone building on top of the wall and fanciful outlet tower evoke a sense of importance. At the time of its construction from 1902 to 1907, Cataract Dam was the biggest engineering project in Australia and the fourth biggest in the world.

Lookout points

Dam wall

Walk across the dam wall for impressive views of the lake upstream and gorge downstream.

Viewing area above the dam wall

A viewing area at the top of the steps above the dam wall provides magnificent views of the wall, lake and surrounding bushland.

Things to do

Large Group notifictaion image and link

Opening hours

Dam grounds

10 am to 5 pm daily
Extended hours, 10 am to 7 pm, on weekends and public holidays during daylight saving time
Entry is free
No entry is permitted 15 minutes prior to closing time


View in Maps

Cataract Dam is about 84 kilometres drive from Sydney, off the Appin-Bulli Road. From Sydney take the Hume Highway (F5) south to the Campbelltown exit and follow the Appin Road south. At Appin, take the Bulli-Wollongong Road, and turn right to Cataract Dam where signposted.


  • Children's playground
  • Drinking water
  • Barbecues
  • Parking
  • Toilets
  • Viewing areas
  • Hot Water
  • Disabled toilets
  • Picnic shelters



Restrictions are in place to protect our water supply and ensure that everyone has an enjoyable and safe visit - with penalties up to $44,000 applying:

  • No wood, charcoal or solid fuel barbecues. Penalties of up to $5,500 apply
  • Portable gas barbecues are permitted (except during total fire bans)
  • No fishing, boating or swimming
  • No camping
  • No dogs, horses or other pets
  • No model aircraft or drones
  • No access allowed to restricted and Special Areas
  • No smoking within 10 metres of children's playgrounds and four metres of shelters, toilets and public buildings
  • Keep to vehicle speed limits and be aware of pedestrians

Recreation Areas at WaterNSW dams will be closed on ALL Total Fire Ban days.

The Cataract Experience

Top 5 things to see and do

1. Book the Manor house for a visit

Cataract Dam is unique in retaining a set of handsome cottages which date from the dam's construction, built with 'ashlar' (precisely cut) sandstone quarried on site. Accommodation can be booked for short stays. The official quarters is a particularly fine example of a Federation Queen Anne bungalow, with matching outbuildings and landscaped gardens surrounded by a castle-like sandstone fence. When built, the house contained a board room, offices, four bedrooms and a kitchen.

2. Make a grand entrance!

From The Manor - dramatically set on a cableway platform used in the dam's construction - walk down a drive flanked by an avenue of phoenix palms and jacarandas towards the dam wall. At the top of a flight of steps, experience a magnificent view of the dam wall directly ahead, with its unique valve house set against the backdrop of the lake's densely wooded shores. You'll feel like a king or queen making a grand entrance!

3. Walk across the dam wall

Walk down the steps and across the dam wall for magnificent views of the lake and Keele Island upstream, and of the deep Cataract Gorge downstream. If you walk the full 247 metres to the other end, you'll glimpse the dam's spillway. When the lake is full, the wall feels much higher than its 56 metres. Look out across the lake, then cross to the other side and look down into the gorge. You might be lucky and see giant plumes of water being released from the outlets below.

4. Be photographed next to a castle!

Near the centre of the dam wall stands the valve house, finished in weathered sandstone. Its Tudor style features a slate hipped roof with ridgecap finials and with parapet gable ends on the north and south sides and arched parapets on the east and west sides. It's a great place for photos. Your friends might even think you've visited a castle!

5. Relax with a picnic

Throw down a rug and enjoy a picnic with family and friends in the landscaped grounds. Look out for reminders of the dam's glory days as a picnic spot in the 1920s and 1930s, when Upper Nepean dams competed for the most beautiful gardens. Remnants of ornamental gardens, grotto shelters, decorative walls and ferneries are scattered throughout the upper picnic area, and near the dam wall is a concrete faux-log bridge. Modern facilities include electric barbecues, drinking water, picnic tables, a children's playground and toilets.

Dam Summary

Metres High
Length: 247 metres
Size of lake:
8.5 km 2
97.19 gl total operating capacity
Catchment: 130 square kilometres

Facts & History

Located about 84 kilometres south of Sydney, Cataract was the first of the four dams constructed to collect water from the Illawarra Plateau. Created by damming the Cataract River, construction started in 1902 and was completed in 1907.

Together with Cordeaux Dam, Cataract's main role today is to supply water to Camden, Campbelltown and Wollondilly council areas via the Macarthur water filtration plant.

Together, the Nepean, Avon, Cataract and Cordeaux dams also provide an additional supply of water for Sydney, via Pheasants Nest Weir, Broughtons Pass Weir and the Upper Canal.

Why the dam was built

The Upper Nepean catchment south of Sydney is in one of the highest rainfall zones on the mid-NSW coast, and the area's rivers, located in narrow gorges, provide ideal dam sites.

As early as 1888, two weirs were built on the Cataract and Nepean rivers to capture this rainfall as part of the Upper Nepean Scheme to help meet Sydney's growing needs. Tunnels, canals and aqueducts - known as the Upper Canal - diverted the water 64 kilometres to Prospect Reservoir.

The scheme provided only temporary relief, and the 1901 - 1902 drought brought Sydney perilously close to a complete water famine. After two Royal Commissions, authorities agreed that a dam be built on the Cataract River. The successive building of Cataract, Cordeaux, Avon and Nepean dams between 1907 and 1935 greatly increased the Upper Nepean Scheme's capacity.

How the dam was built

Cataract Dam is located on the Cataract River, a tributary of the Nepean River, just below the junction with the Loddon River. Construction started in 1902 and by June 1903, much of the area to be submerged had already been cleared of timber.

Cataract Dam is a straight dam with an unlined side spillway to the left of the dam wall. For the first time in Australia, pre-cast moulded concrete blocks were used to build the upstream face of the dam. They were hauled to the site from an open factory on the banks of the Loddon River.

Cement and other supplies were delivered to the site by steam tractors hauling trailer trains over rough roads from Campbelltown, 16 kilometres away.

Cottages for men with families, and barracks for single men, were built to house workers for each of the new dams on the Upper Nepean and at Woronora. The towns had a school, amusement hall, medical clinic and ambulance. As each dam was completed between 1907 and 1941, much of the town was dismantled and moved to the next dam site, along with most of the workforce.

Completed in 1907, when Cataract filled to capacity for the first time in January 1911, it soon became clear that the spillway needed to be widened to prevent any risk of floodwater overtopping the dam wall. This work was completed in 1915.

Later improvements

Cataract Dam was strengthened by installing post-tensioned anchors in 1987, to meet modern dam safety standards. This was the first time that post-tensioned cables were used to strengthen a dam, after trials were successfully undertaken on Manly Dam.


Saturday 25 June
2,524,148 ML
2,618,706 ML
9,094 ML
1,300 ML
27,516 ML
Saturday 25 June
Cataract Dam
Upper Nepean
Saturday 25 June